Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Princeton appoints new President

(c) Princeton University

Christopher L. Eisgruber, Princeton's provost for the past nine years, has been named the University's 20th president, effective July 1. He succeeds Shirley M. Tilghman, who last fall announced her intention to step down at the end of this academic year after completing 12 years in office. 

Eisgruber was appointed at a special meeting of the University's Board of Trustees on the unanimous and enthusiastic recommendation of a 17-member search committee following a six-month search. The search committee included nine trustees, four faculty members, three students, and a member of the staff; it was chaired by Kathryn Hall, the chair of the board. 

A member of the Princeton undergraduate Class of 1983, Eisgruber majored in physics, spent two years at Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar, and then received his law degree from the University of Chicago. After clerking for U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Patrick Higginbotham and U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens and teaching at New York University Law School for 11 years, he joined the Princeton faculty in 2001 as the director of the Program in Law and Public Affairs and the Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Public Affairs in the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs and the University Center for Human Values.

He was named Princeton's 11th provost in 2004 and in that capacity has been the University's second-ranking official and its chief academic and budgetary officer. 

A renowned constitutional scholar, whose most recent books examined the Supreme Court appointments process and religious freedom and the constitution, he is also a gifted teacher who has continued to teach as provost. This past fall he taught a freshman seminar on the Supreme Court and constitutional democracy.

No comments:

Post a Comment